Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
EFGU-English For Grown Ups
17 février 2016

Rock'n'roll grammar – Pink Floyd "Wish you were here" – B1

In this beautiful song, the Pink Floyd band members wish their deceased friend Syd Barrett were near them.

 

wish-you-were-here-pink-floyd-737825

To express their wish, they use "wish" followed by "to be" in the preterit.

 - WISH + WAS or WERE (to be in the preterit).

Eg: I wish I was here, I wish you were here, I wish he/she/it was here,

I wish we were, I whish you were here, I wish they were here

Anyway, if you are a little bit lazy, you can also use were for any persons, singular or plural (a little more formal).

Eg: I whish I/you/he/she/it/we/you/they were here

To go further: If you want to read the lyrics, stop wishing, here they are : Wish you were here

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
EFGU-English For Grown Ups
Publicité
Archives
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 13 737
Newsletter
10 abonnés
Publicité